Winter reflections…

It’s another wet and cold day in my corner of England:-). The sun flirted briefly with me as I went into the kitchen this morning then dashed shyly behind a cloud of gray! What a tease:-). I dropped the kids off to the village school down the lane then met my friend in town for a quick cup of coffee and catch up. That was nice. I do need to get out more often. But I hate moving from the couch when the weather is like this. I’m still working on my Christmas cross stitch at the moment and trying to complete my Pride and Prejudice novel. The kids got all their hearts for last week(I’ve got them a new reward system at the moment which seems to be working brilliantly) so I told them I’d take them out after school later to pick up their treat.

Hope you’re having a good day too.

Whenever loneliness really bites after the kids go to bed and I’m sitting there wondering what to do with myself and the urge to talk to another living soul is so great that I could easily go into a chat room or one of those dating apps, ( just being brutally honest) I pick up my bible instead. And I put on classical music and read and meditate until I feel at peace again. And the more I do it, the less and less the loneliness even bites or bothers me. But I make sure I make time for friends and connecting with people during the daytime.

I never thought in a million years my life would end up like this. This feeling of isolation. I grew up in a big bustling family and loneliness was never an issue. Even grandparents lived in the same house and not on their own, sometimes three generations in one family. And we\ i loved it:-). And inspite of the residual lingering loneliness in this country, it’s not such a bad life after all if I make the most of it, man or no man, which is what I plan to do. it’s just sometimes when I hear from family members and see their updates on social media I am sharply reminded of my loss like a phantom aching limb. You have to learn how to make the most of your situation wherever you are, however it is and cultivate an attitude of gratitude, joy and expectancy, that things can and willget better. 

Living on my own makes me appreciate each and every person I come into contact with, and has spurred me on to start volunteering again. Its also taught me the importance of seeing the whole person and listening fully as they speak. And also the wisdom of respecting differences, letting go, loving fully and forgiving freely. It has taught me in many instances how to be truly Christ-like and a light for the world. So in all things and whatever season of our lives there’s always a rich and learning experience to be have:-). God bless and keep you always.

 

Published by

Candy

Live. Love. Forgive. Life's too short not to give yourself another chance. Peace and blessings be with you always. And remember to smile a while sometimes:-). Doesn't cost a thing! And besides...it makes you look absolutely gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

